Saurav Ghosal Wins PSA 25 METROsquash Windy City Open

PSA International 25 METROsquash Windy City Open, Chicago, USA
RESULTS: PSA International 25 METROsquash Windy City Open, Chicago, USA
[1] Saurav Ghosal (IND) bt [Q] Yasir Butt (PAK) 11-8, 15-13, 10-12, 11-5
India's Saurav Ghosal celebrated the biggest PSA World Tour title win of his career at the METROsquash Windy City Open, the PSA International 25 squash event at the University Club of Chicago in Chicago, USA.
The top seed from Kolkata faced Pakistan qualifier Yasir Butt, a 23-year-old from Lahore whose giant-killing run in the event included the scalps of three higher-ranked opponents.
"Yasir came out firing, with precision short shots catching Saurav a little of guard, taking early leads in the first three games," explained tournament spokesman Yoni Ellous. "Saurav knuckled down in each with some phenomenal retrieving causing Yasir to get frustrated."
Ghosal recovered to win the first two games, but Butt reduced the deficit after the third.
The six-time Indian champion neutralised Butt from the start of the fourth, quickly establishing a 5-1 lead. The Pakistani was unable to close the gap as Ghosal powered on to secure his title-winning 11-8, 15-13, 10-12, 11-5 victory.
"Won 3-1 today!" tweeted the world No27 after the biggest win of his career. "Yasir was really good...he CAN play! Great final! I'm so happy to be the METRO WINDY CITY CHAMPION! Woohooo"
The success marks the fifth Tour title of Ghosal's career.
For all the latest Tour news:
[1] Saurav Ghosal (IND) bt [4] Alan Clyne (SCO) 11-4, 11-5, 11-6
[Q] Yasir Butt (PAK) bt [3] Mohd Ali Anwar Reda (EGY) 9-11, 11-2, 8-11, 12-10, 11-3
[1] Saurav Ghosal (IND) bt [Q] Olivier Pett (ENG) 5-11, 11-7, 11-4, 14-12
[4] Alan Clyne (SCO) bt Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) 8-11, 11-4, 13-11, 11-9
[3] Mohd Ali Anwar Reda (EGY) bt Arturo Salazar (MEX) 12-14, 11-2, 11-7, 11-8
[Q] Yasir Butt (PAK) bt Shawn Delierre (CAN) 11-7, 9-11, 11-9, 9-11, 11-9
1st round:
[1] Saurav Ghosal (IND) bt Cesar Salazar (MEX) 6-11, 8-11, 11-2, 11-6, 11-6
[Q] Olivier Pett (ENG) bt Ong Beng Hee (MAS) 11-8, 11-6, 11-7
Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) bt [Q] Christopher Gordon (USA) 11-6, 11-7, 11-8
[4] Alan Clyne (SCO) bt [Q] Matthew Karwalski (AUS) 11-13, 11-4, 13-11, 11-6
[3] Mohd Ali Anwar Reda (EGY) bt Shahjahan Khan (PAK) 11-9, 11-3, 12-10
Arturo Salazar (MEX) bt Martin Knight (NZL) 6-11, 11-9, 11-3, 11-4
[Q] Yasir Butt (PAK) bt Marwan El Shorbagy (EGY) 11-9, 11-9, 5-11, 11-5
Shawn Delierre (CAN) bt [2] Shahier Razik (CAN) 7-11, 11-8, 11-8, 11-7